As we approach the winter season, there has never been a better time for compiling your tracks onto playlists and taking time to listen to some of the albums you may have missed in those hectic summer months. With such a busy year in the last 12 months, there was been music from artists, old and new that have had a massive impact on the current music scene. Our Cloud 9 lists look to deliver the best tracks of the past 7 days and provide a platform for a number of artists to step up and deliver. This get comfy, plug in [or play out] as we present;

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E | Cloud 9: 006.


1. Sweet Da Kid – When I Blow

Sweet Da Kid, a rapper from New Jersey has been shrouded in mystery as we are yet to know his true identity but his EP Your Mother’s Son has been doing all the talking needed. On of the standout tracks from the EP is ‘When I Blow’, a kick back number, backed by bluesy production from mentor Salaam Remi. Sweet’s country twang and endearing chorus over the mellow production are a welcome departure from what could have easily been a bass-thumping trap anthem. Sweet instead keeps it simple, and indicates this simplicity might not change much — even when he adds some commas to his bank account.


2. h09909 – Dead Bodies in The Lake

The L.A.-based punk-rap duo Ho99o9 are one of the most interesting acts in rap going at the moment, thanks to their reckless disregard for genre conventions and infectious energy. With their apocalyptic sound and incredibly morose lyrical content, the macabre duo have taken the blueprints of rap and punk music simply to warp them into an unrecognisable beast entirely its own. Their latest offering is a mixtape entitled Dead Bodies In The Lake and a blend of unique tracks including ‘Get a Grip’, ‘Hate Crimes’ and ‘Kill You’. This blend of genres is a welcome “breath of fresh air” in a congested US rap game.


3. Rick Ross – Jumpman (Remix)

In the build up to the release of his new album Black Market in December, Rick Ross continues his Renzel Remixes series, which has already seen Rozay take on Post Malone‘s ‘White Iverson’ and Adele‘s ‘Hello‘. He obviously has no intention of slowing down as he releases a remix of Drake and Future‘s What a Time to be Alive track, ‘Jumpman‘. The track stays loyal to the original with Ross delivering an impressive verse and taking the time to bring up his past issues with producer Timbaland on the remix and calls him a “busta”. Rick Ross is taking over the remix game right now…


4. Phoria – Melatonin’

With the dark, winter months rapidly approaching, Brighton group Phoria have picked the perfect moment to drop their newest cut ‘Melatonin’, the title itself refers to a hormone that anticipates darkness. The track is a sweeping piece of electronic pop, which will feature on their forthcoming debut album, which is due out next year. There’s a overwhelming freshness about this track that immediately connotes those crisp, frosty mornings, most notably in the juxtaposition of those snappy drums against the gliding atmospherics and Trewin Howard‘s delicate vocals.


5. Crits feat. Che Lingo & Ms Banks – 2am

West London’s Crits dropped his Tummy Wilson produced EP last week called #WakeUP. Dropping the EP at an exclusive launch/birthday party, which saw performances from WSTRN and Youngs Teflon, Crits also performed live. The high paced instrumentals and production infused with the catchy flow and lyrics from Crits shows his statement that you should not sleep on him at all. One of the biggest tracks from the project is ‘2AM‘ featuring both Che Lingo and Ms Banks. All those involved shine on the track with Banks blending rapping and singing while Che Lingo drops a skippy and addictive flow.


6. HUNTR – Kindness

On the heels of their impressive debut offering ‘Veins‘, Los Angeles-based collective HUNTR release the follow-up single, ‘Kindness‘. Similar to their previous efforts, the five-man band are pushing the envelope even further with an even more aggressive fusion of gritty guitar over driving brass and drums, laced with subtle Bollywood elements. It’s a mix of Beastie Boys and Chiddy Bang and makes for an impressive track. We are yet to hear if/when the group will release a full project of work but we hope we won’t be kept waiting too long!


7. Rocks FOE – Law

With listed influences ranging from Japanese video-game composers (N. Uematsuto, Y. Shimomura) to grime scene gods (Wiley, Dizzee Rascal), Croydon’s Rocks FOE exists as an interesting proposition. New track ‘Law‘ is an entirely fiery number underpinned with an avalanche of sub-bass and ornamented with a hail of hi-hats; it’s a meaningful assault on the ears and it works just perfectly. The track is taken from Rocks FOE‘s upcoming Legion EP, which is scheduled for vinyl and digital release via Black Acre Records on 27th November.


8. Chance The Rapper feat. Saba – Angels

We have been itching to new music from Chance The Rapper since his latest effort Surf with The Social Experiment. This week saw the release of ‘Angels‘ which finds the Chicago artist putting on for his city. He’s out to put a remarkable impression on young minds as he rhymes about his intent as an artist, the violence plaguing the streets, and being the blueprint for a real man. He’s definitely in the midst of reinventing his sound, from bad boy introspective stoner, to a revolutionary politically minded young adult. Chance is a new Father, outspoken and active in the hip hop community with more than just a musical perspective.


9. Mura Masa feat. Shura – Love For That

Guernsey born and London based producer Mura Masa made an impressive statement last year with his debut album, Soundtrack To A Death and his production on a number of Soulection tracks. Now, the producer is back with another immediate track with ‘Love For That’ featuring Shura. The track is the first product of the sessions for the teenager’s debut album, which he is currently recording and writing. It begins with some unsuspecting strings and ornate flutes before allowing Shura’s lovely vocals to take hold amidst some crisp electronic production, making for his most moving track yet.

More Stories
A closer look at the Beyoncé’s IVY PARK x adidas UltraBOOST