Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Another week, and another edition of our popular Cloud 9 series rolls round. This week has been what is certainly a momentous occasion for the UK urban scene with the release of Konnichiwa by UK rapper Skepta. The release was marked by a live stream from Tokyo and at time of writing, the project could potentially hit #1 in the UK charts. UK showed it’s strength with Stormzy teaming up with RAY BLK for nostalgic track ‘My Hood‘ while singer MYM dropped some strong visuals in the form of ‘Who Are You‘. We also had the pleasure of premiering two fanatastic projects; first we had TheGoodVibe getting us in the summer vibe with Future Vibe: Volume 1 and then we showcased PROSE‘s latest video, ‘Half A Man‘, a collaboration with The Big Issue. Not to forget the US scene, we shone the light on the young upcoming stars with our list of the New Class of Rap. But with every week comes a string of new releases and as always, we have worked to find you 9 of the best from the “Cloud of Sound”. So sit back, plug-in and relax as we present;

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E | Cloud 9: 028.


1. Fifi Rong – Forbidden Desires

London-based artist and producer Fifi Rong returns with her new Forbidden Desire EP after previously featuring on Skepta‘s ‘Konnichiwa‘ title track. Fifi’s latest work is a further expression of her genre-bending hybrid-electronica sound; in her own words a “snap shot” of her latest development. The EP represents the continued refinement of Fifi’s distinctive style and showcases a transitional period towards her forthcoming album. The singer produces her music in isolation from start to finish, away from the influences of the outside world – the intention always being to communicate a certain emotional intimacy to her audience and to transport the listener into her very own universe.


2. Aden – Golden Child

Aden is undoubtedly one of Toronto’s most elusive upcoming rappers. He has proved this on his debut EP Last Mountain Valley accompanied by indiscernible cover art with the rapper appropriately shifting all the attention to his music. The project sounds like if Jimmy Prime met Derek Wise and added some new energy over some Zepfire beats.One of his most notable songs is ‘In It Forever‘ – an atmospheric track that takes us into a dystopian world with its’ dark production and concerning voice overs. The song differs from all other songs due to its sonic quality. ‘Golden Child‘ and ‘Right Now‘ flip the production style with aggressive 808 elements that add another level of intensity to the project.


3. The King’s Parade – Gathering the Pieces of a Broken Heart

Since the formation of The King’s Parade in 2012, the four-piece’s assured touch of classic Detroit blues with melodic, crossover pop has frontman Olly Corpe and his band evoking the crafted sounds of Jamie Woon, Leon Bridges and Son Little. Since releasing their debut Vagabond EP last year as well as a string of singles including ‘Bunched Up Letters‘ and ‘Silhouette‘, The King’s Parade have seen themselves picking up critical acclaim all over. Continuing with their signature style on new release ‘Gathering the Pieces of a Broken Heart‘, they continue to refine a new blues blueprint that’s seeing a loyal and expectant fan base growing by the day.


4. Noise Galleri feat. Yungen – You Get Me

South London trio Noise Galleri are back with a bang for their new single ‘You Get Me‘ featuring rapper and fellow south Londoner Yungen. The track brings together an array of different sounds, such as electronic, trap, dubstep and rap, to form what can only be described as a high-octane, explosive club stomper. The track was written and produced by Noise Galleri and follows last year’s ‘Spin Me High‘, which gained support from major UK radio stations Kiss FM, Capital Xtra and Radio 1. It’s a natural chemistry that flows out of their music, and it means that Noise Galleri’s album should be a marvel when it drops later this year.


5. Hannah Georgas – Don’t Go

Don’t Go‘ is the new single from acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Hannah Georgas and is from Georgas’ anticipated new full-length album For Evelyn, which will be released this summer on Dine Alone Records. Named after Hannah’s “compassionate, patient, kind and beautiful” 98-year-old grandmother, For Evelyn was produced by Graham Walsh, mixed by Nicolas Vernhes and features collaborations with Ryan Guldemond and Andy Shauf. In celebration of the release, Hannah Georgas will embark on a North American tour beginning June 17 at Toronto’s Molson Amphitheatre with City and Colour followed by a series of dates with Boy & Bear.


6. Seinabo Sey – Sorry (MagnusTheMagnus Remix)

Since exploding onto the scene in 2013 with her avant-garde hit ‘Younger‘, Seinabo Sey has remained a major force with her groundbreaking sound of that could be called soulpop. off the heels of Sey’s groundbreaking debut album Pretend comes the remix of one of the favourite album tracks, ‘Sorry‘. Remix duties are handled by MagnusTheMagnus, with whom Sey has formed a songwriting relationship with and one of the producers behind Pretend. Providing a massive symphonic piano-led addition to the EP, his version of ‘Sorry‘ includes the original track demo of Sey’s vocal, which balances the perfect amount of tension and payoff.


7. Louis Berry – Nicole

Truly an epic story following his signing with Ministry of Sound after just two tracks, Louis Berry has flown from the backalleys of Kirkby in Liverpool to working on his debut LP in Nashville, Tennessee. Louis is the real deal, preaching firebrand rock n roll anthems crafted from the alleyways of Liverpool. Recorded in Nashville with production legend Jacquire King, new release ‘Nicole‘ is a similarly ballsy, no-holds barred ode to a girl who he’s trying to impress. It’s the raw, serrated edge of a voice as well as the rolling stone, wild vibe that’s becoming his trademark that again marks out the strength and significance of Louis’ output.


8. J Tropic – Jasmine

Brighton producer J Tropic has been building a serious underground reputation since his debut heaters ‘Love Up‘ and ‘Solid Gold‘ in 2014. Following on from his last release ‘Over & Over’, the beatmaker comes through with a version of Jai Paul’s last release ‘Jasmine’ that both underlies his ambitions for the year and cements his trademark sound. The tropical flourishes balanced with delicate basslines and off-type glitches mark the welcome return of a sound and producer that’s bridging ever closer to tipping point across both sides of the Atlantic. Busy in the studio for the past few months means lots of material ready for summer and a slew of live dates to be confirmed.


9. Anna Straker – Late Night Swimming

Having recently collaborated with Fono on his track ‘Everybody Knows‘, 19-year-old London-based singer/songwriter and producer Anna Straker has just unveiled her seductive and summery debut single entitled ‘Late Night Swimming‘. Driven by a hazy synth-heavy instrumental, Anna’s sweet and weightless vocal permeates the melody giving it an edgy pop appeal. Straker showcases her full range of talents by writing, recording, and producing the track all on her own. The title of the single seems fitting as it sonically dives head first into deep waves of synth-pop. The versatility of her musical ability is truly impressive, and, lucky for us, this is only the beginning.

More Stories
BET Awards 2019 – Nominees & Winners Complete List