The main headline in music over the past few days has been the ongoing controversy surrounding Kanye West, Taylor Swift and the now infamous ‘Famous‘ lyric. But there was been more going on in the world of music, in both the UK and beyond. While the US rap scene showed his strength with new releases from Logic [Bobby Tarantino], French Montana [‘No Shopping‘] and Tory Lanez [‘August 19th‘], the UK showed its versatility with tracks from Naomi Scott and Scorcher x Rocket. We also had the pleasure of hosting the first edition of our new segment, Top 5: Finds of the Month where we explored five finds from the world of music with spots for Kyle Dion, Khalid and Keke Palmer. But with every week comes a string of new releases and as always, we have worked to find you 9 of the best from the “Cloud of Sound”. So sit back, plug-in and relax as we present;

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E | Cloud 9: 038.


1. BRIGHT – Doing Things

BRIGHT is 25-year old artist Bright Owusu; an exciting new musical export from Norway, who has made a name for himself in his home city of Oslo, earning featured artist status on the bill at By:Larm and a national support tour with Nelly. ‘Doing Things’ is a stunning introduction to a shining new talent; a perfect blend of heavy hip-hop and smooth R&B, with classic Atlanta drops and honest lyricism. Capturing a moment of inspiration whilst on a plane to Miami, the track was a mile high output; written as an ode to an ex girlfriend [note the verse “but you playing, you keep fading, I’m in Miami changing“].


2. JIL – All Your Words

New York based 3 piece band JIL has now streamed their latest offering  ‘All Your Words‘. JIL is an anonymous trio of musicians that grew up in New York City. Directly influenced by the City’s energy and constant re-invention; JIL’s sound has a strong electronic overtone while also remaining true to their Soul and R&B roots. They have also played with the likes of Dev Hynes and Rat King while remaining heavily involved in New York scene. The trio has released three songs to date [‘Emotional Heat‘, ‘Freak‘ and ‘IMfat‘], with a much anticipated full album release accompanied by their first music video premiere slated for September.


3. Andrea Valle – Come and See Me

Singer/songwriter Andrea Valle, dubbed as the Renaissance woman, bends musical boundaries reminiscent of SZA, Willow Smith, Frank Ocean and FKA Twigs. Her debut EP, The Way It Goes has been featured in both U.K and U.S publications and praised for it’s uniqueness and creativity. Following the success of her EP, Andrea has unveiled her latest single, a remake of PartyNextDoor’s ‘Come and See Me‘. Staying true to the original, Andrea’s rework of the track is strictly for the ladies. Andrea Valle shows her sultry vocals and penmanship as she dives into her sub conscious and reflects on being alone in a relationship.


4. EDEN – drugs

Hailing from Dublin, 20-year-old vocalist/producer/multi-instrumentalist artist EDEN released his new track ‘drugsfrom his much-anticipated EP i think you think too much of me, which is due out on August 19, 2016 on Astralwerks / Caroline International. EDEN premiered the hypnotising and unapologetic track on Billboard and serves as a taster of what we can expect from his upcoming project. “With each song, I try to make something that is just honest about how I feel and think — both lyrically and musically,” he says. “I’d like to make something artistically important but also personally important to me that I can stand by forever“.


5. Demise Blue – Wicked Interpretation

Seattle hip hop talent Demise Blue showed his credentials with his previous release ‘Fr Fr‘ in which he let loose on the beat and proved that the hype around his name is real. Now Demise has released a new track entitled ‘Wicked Interpretation‘, his take on Future‘s hit record ‘Wicked‘, where he’s feeling a little reflective on the Lucid Soundz production. As usual, he delivers tight bars with a steady flow, mixing his flow throughout to match the instrumental perfectly.. ‘Wicked Interpretation‘ lures you in with a soft romantic guitar, then captures you with dynamic verses from Demise Blue with a silky hook paying homage to original ‘Wicked‘.


6. Pedro Fresco feat. SongsbyH – YEAH!

Months after releasing ‘FreeRaps‘, Pedro Fresco links with Colorado up-and-comer SongsbyH and Australian producer Sequel to create some feel-good vibes on their latest track ‘YEAH!‘. This beat is chill and is only accented by both of the artists singing. Fresco utilizes his unique style to catch our ear. With fun lyrics over pretty smooth production from Sequel, the song is perfect for this summer weather. Fresco is currently putting the final touches on No Concept, his debut project, which is set to drop pretty soon. Also be on the look out for the official video for Fresco’s joint, ‘FreeRaps’, which is due imminently.


7. Yung God ft. Ramriddlz & Mavado – SAUDOG

Ramriddlz is from Mississauga, Ontario, and since his breakthrough hit, ‘Sweeterman‘, has found it hard to capitalise on his initial success, with his EP Venis falling a bit flat. We haven’t heard from him much since then, but with summer underway, he returns with an attempt to capitalize on the summer vibes. On ‘SAUGOD‘ [a portmanteau of Ram’s hometown Mississauga and “god”] he’s letting his city know that he is its new ruler. Dancehall superstar Mavado appears on the new track over creepy, distorted production from Yung Lean collaborator Yung Gud. It’s a good fit for Riddlz, who bounces from conquest to sexual conquest with a junkyard dog’s vigor.


8. Justin Rose – No Biggie

New York’s music scene just got a lot better, especially because Justin Rose is apart of it. Justin has been able to garner a buzz to a level where he has been able to perform on notable stages. Rose just recently performed alongside; Dreezy, A Boogie, and Manolo Rose and last week, the rapper/producer released a new song titled ‘No Biggie‘, taken from his anticipated Water White mixtape due to drop this Friday [July 22nd]. “The line that defines the song is, ‘They tryna put me under pressure but you know how that goes, ain’t no biggie,’” Rose explains. “This was the main inspiration for the song. When you put your mind to something, people always try to put you under pressure but you always got release“.


9. KDA feat. Tinashe – Just Say

Just days removed from her new single ‘Superlove‘, Tinashe decides to come through and assist UK artist and producer KDA on the new single ‘Just Say‘. The upbeat track, which WON’T see life on her upcoming album, will surely make fans want to get up out their chairs and hit the dance floor. This week, the pop-n-b singer told Zane Lowe on Beats 1 that her sophomore album, the oft-delayed Joyride, will finally drop this fall [it has been two years since her knockout debut, Aquarius, dropped]. The track is a catchy dance number and will surely built anticipation for her upcoming project.


For more music news and updates, click right here or for more of our Cloud 9 playlists, click here, only on 

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E.

More Stories
Nike Air Max 90 “Infrared” 2015 Retro (Release Date)