Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Last week marked the return of our traditional Cloud 9 playlist and DAMN!, it feels good to be back. We featured the likes of Knucks, King Kay and Nadia Rose and as always, our readers showed love! This week is no different so we jump back into the “Cloud of Sound” to bring you 9 of the best. In a week that has seen the battle between Remy Ma and Nicki Minaj go to the next level, we have also seen new releases from the likes of Frank Ocean, Rachel Foxx and 808INK. So sit back, plug-in and relax as we present;

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E | Cloud 9: 054.

1. Olivia Louise X Saffa Ghorishi – FingerTips

2017 is definitely looking like it could be an awesome year for UK singer Olivia Louise and she is looking to kick things off in the right way with her new single release. She has just dropped ‘FingerTips’, the first single from her forthcoming EP, JuicyFruit, with producer, Saffa Ghorishi. The familiarly sensual vocals of Olivia Louise pour all over the instrumentation, providing a tantalising experience for the listener via her lyrical metaphors. As of yet, there has been no confirmation of a release date for JuicyFruit but it will be exciting to see what she delivers next.


2. Goldlink – Meditation

GoldLink and Kaytranada have collaborated a few times and everytime they link up they make magic. The two initially teamed up for GoldLink’s single ‘Fall In Love‘ and once again on ‘Together‘” which is off Kaytranada’s debut album 99.9%. After dropping the visuals for his single ‘Crew‘ featuring Brent Faiyaz and Jefe (Shy Glizzy), he has returned with his Kaytranada produced track ‘Meditation‘ which features Jazmine Sullivan. The single is a perfect blend of hip-hop and soul with a sprinkle of EDM and will make you get out of your seat and hit that two-step.


3. Melanie Rosé –  Moonlight EP

Chicago singer meets Germany producer through the power of the World Wide Web on this new collaborative EP called Moonlight. Melanie Rosé teams up with Bassti for a less-than-ten-minute dedication to her baby brother and best friends. The five track project finds Melanie floating through with a soulful stride and ethereal presence over Bassti’s nostalgic, hissing production. She sings about self-reflection and relationship struggles in five different phases, but the cohesion of the EP allows the poetry to blend into a full story. Moonlight is a small window into Melanie’s emotions and her strong presence over the swinging drums are a magnifying glass for them.


4. FXXXXY – Beep Beep

Dallas-based FXXXXY has been on a roll lately, and he’s only getting better. After dropping his video, ‘20 Taliband via Pigeons and Planes last month, but as he gears up for the release of his Flawed Up Shawty EP, his output is getting even stronger and more consistent. Coming off the success of his viral single, ‘Lip Service 6‘, the rising newcomer returns to our drug-laced pages with another self-produced loosie entitled ‘Beep Beep‘. The track is just a taste of things to come and has a lighter vibe to it, but maintains a dark aura and includes plenty of bass.


5. Tonga Balloon Gang feat. Burst Gang & Mista Silva – Pattern Up 

A year into the rise of their collaborative party Tonga, Mike Skinner, Murkage Dave, Klepto DJ, Oscar #worldpeace and Smith released an EP channeling the energy that had been coming out of putting on the nights and festival performances. Now they’re back with a video for the lead single ‘Tonga Balloon Gang’, directed by Skinner, which acts as a sort of audio-visual manifesto for what Tonga is all about as we see some highlights of the past year, guest appearances from Kano, Giggs and Big Narstie as well as plenty of madness. The project is out now, and also comes with two other tracks featuring Big Narstie and Jammer, available here.


6. Frank Ocean feat. ASAP Rocky – Chanel Remix

Frank Ocean‘s new song ‘Chanel‘ played for almost an hour straight on the singer’s Beats 1 radio show on Friday night—by one count, the song was run back a stunning 18 times in a row. But only twice during that run did a special surprise pop up. An ASAP Rocky verse appeared out of nowhere about 45 minutes in, and then showed up once again before everything was done. On the remix, which contains the same beat, Rocky follows Frank’s rhyme pattern, bringing up the rear with the last verse, rapping, “Our lives are factual and actual/Plus you natural and match well/Virgins on my back look like a shell/Purple act, I’m moving like a snail“.


7. Amir Obe – Wish You Well

Amir Obe, the Detroit born and current Brooklyn resident, has been through a lot of music transitions since entering the game. On his new record ‘Wish You Well‘, he’s asking his competitors to know their place. The rapper-singer went to his Twitter to share the name of his upcoming EP, NOTCW which he says is set to drop on March 30. With the musician’s history of working with artists such as PartyNextDoor and receiving praise from Drake, who’s to say what this project is going to consist of. Along with sharing the EP title, a short video was also included in the tweet where Obe states “Dont Ignore The Signs.”


8. Liv Dawson – Searching

Liv Dawson has only just turned 18 years old, a prodigal vocalist with remarkable talent. Beginning to come into her own, Liv is willing to look outside her normal influences, her normal sphere of reference. She is no stranger to working with Disclosure; her last single ‘Open Your Eyes’ was produced by Guy Lawrence and now she’s teamed back up with the production maestros for her sparkling new electro-pop jam ‘Searching’. Liv soulfully laments about lost love over the Lawrences’ quick-fire house beats and hefty vintage synth stabs. If you’re looking for a new floor-filling club banger, your search might be over.


9. Anna Wise – Some Mistakes

The same voice that first captured many people’s attention on Kendrick Lamar’s ‘Real‘ is put to great use once again. The elusive Anna Wise is back with a funky, harmony-filled, Mndsgn-produced groove called ‘Some Mistakes‘. On the song, Anna comes through for a bubbly, bouncy, bumpin’ groove that sounds like it was yanked straight from the dance floors of the early ’80s. Warm synth bass and cool keys meet up to provide the perfect backing for Anna’s breathy vocal. Riding the groove quite nicely, she takes the opportunity to weave a narrative about a mistake of a lover that she knew would bring her heartbreak.

For more music news and updates, click right here or for more of our Cloud 9 playlists, click here, only on 

L Ø S T  C U L T U R E.

More Stories
Giggs drops anticipated new album “Big Bad” ft. Jadakiss, Ghetts & more